Skip to content

Takeout Style Chicken Fried Rice

April 10, 2014

chickenfriedrice

When Elias and I were first married, I learned very quickly that he didn’t consider a meal a full meal unless there’s rice. We eat rice in our home every single day. While I learned the secrets of making rice and it’s not hard, I did wonder out loud (on Facebook) awhile ago if I should get a rice cooker. The response was pretty one sided “Yes! Get one! I love mine!” People seemed to be passionate about their rice cookers. One friend was the lone dissenter “I don’t really use mine. Wish I could trade it for one of your books.” It sounded like a great deal to me, and so we made the swap.

The verdict? I love the rice cooker. I really do! What’s easier than making rice? Nothing… except making it in a rice cooker. I think the thing I like about it is that it frees up mental space. I just throw it in there and turn it on and then I’m back to the business of making the “fun” food.

Because of my over zealousness with the new rice cooker, I had a big pot of white rice sitting in the fridge. After a few days it gets a little dried out and not so exciting, so I decided to make chicken fried rice. It seriously cooks up in 15 minutes, and it was so tasty. In addition to being absolutely no trouble to throw together and really tasty, it’s cheap and uses up whatever’s in the fridge (within reason).

Take Out Chicken Fried Rice

Ingredients

3 cups of leftover rice

1 and 1/2 cups cooked cubed (or shredded) chicken

1 cup frozen peas and carrots (total = 1 cup. 1/2 cup of each)

1 onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 eggs

3 T neutral flavored oil (vegetable or sesame, if you have it)

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 tsp. ginger paste (optional)

Directions

  1. Heat oil in a large pan on medium-heat
  2. Add vegetables (onion, peas, carrots) and fry for 3-5 minutes, or until tender
  3. Crack eggs into pan, and scramble them in to the vegetables
  4. Add, chicken, rice, and ginger paste to the pan and stir to combine for two minutes
  5. Finish by adding in soy sauce

Source: Adapted from Rachel Schultz 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

