Skip to content

African Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew with Peanut

January 16, 2013

African Peanut Chicken Soup Sweet Potato

I interrupt the regularly scheduled programming  to bring you this interesting and wonderful stew. When I made out the menu plan for this week, I wanted something very different, something we’ve never tried before, and something with different flavors. I stumbled upon a recipe for this stew and it looked wonderful. We loved it. It is sweet and spicy (our version not too spicy). My version uses boneless-skinless chicken for a couple of reasons: 1. I didn’t have time to do the extra step of taking the skin off and taking the bones out. 2. I have a small child, and I’m afraid of those tiny chicken bones escaping into the stew. (Note: We also removed the whole peanuts for our toddler’s portion.)

This stew will be going in our regular rotation of dinners, I am sure of it. It’s simple to make and we enjoyed every last bit of it. A vegetarian version of this would be a cinch — swap out the chicken for tofu. I would add the tofu at the end and use extra firm tofu.

A note about this recipe’s origin: Africa is a whole continent…. I resist calling the soup “African,” because there are so many different countries and regions in Africa and it seems too broad, like calling something a European soup and not defining where in Europe it comes from. Yet, I didn’t have any more information from the recipe, so I can’t be more specific than this. If you are from a country in Africa that eats something like this, please, tell me what country you are from, and how this soup is similar to or different from something you know.

African Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew with Peanut

adapted from Simply Recipes

Ingredients

  • 1 and 1/2 – 2 lbs boneless skinless chicken (breasts, thighs, or a combination)
  • vegetable oil – 2-3 T
  • 1 large yellow or white onion, sliced
  • A 3-inch piece of ginger, peeled and minced (or grated)
  • 6-8 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 2 1/2 – 3 pounds sweet potatoes, peeled and cut in cubes
  • 1 15-ounce can of diced tomatoes (original recipe called for crushed, so whatever you have — I used fire-roasted)
  • 1 quart of chicken stock
  • 1 cup peanut butter (we used creamy, chunky would be great)
  • 1 cup roasted peanuts
  • 1 T ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne, or to taste (we used barely 1/4 teaspoon because of the toddler and husband — I would have preferred more)
  • Salt and black pepper
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup of chopped cilantro

Directions 

1Heat oil in a large heavy bottomed soup pot or dutch oven. Add onions and cook 3-4 minutes, or until soft. Add garlic, ginger, and coriander and cayenne, and stir an additional 1-2 minutes, being careful not to burn the garlic.

2. Add sweet potatoes, tomatoes, chicken stock, peanut butter and peanuts and bring to a simmer.

3. Add chicken and simmer on medium until the chicken is cooked through and sweet potatoes are tender

4. Remove chicken and set aside to cool a little, then shred and add back to the pot.

5. Taste for salt and heat… add more salt and cayenne if needed.

6. Ladle into bowls and garnish with cilantro.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2013 11:35 pm

    Thanks for posting this! You reminded me of a stew that I love 🙂

  2. January 17, 2013 10:45 am

    sounds delicious. What would you swap out the chicken with Tracy. You were very mysterious….

  3. January 17, 2013 11:09 am

    Haha, Jo Ann! I would swap it out for tofu and add it at the end. I promise you that when I was writing this post, some little munchkin came up and distracted me while I was writing that sentence. 🙂 Make it extra firm Tofu (in my experience it dissolves and falls apart in soups. It would probably still do that, but it wouldn’t matter 🙂 I ate a thai version of this soup that used tofu one time… Make it and report back. Are you vegetarian, J? I was for many years…

  4. mommabranam permalink
    January 17, 2013 5:14 pm

    YUm! Too bad I could never get the hubby to eat this. I guess that’s his loss though

  5. Susan Leithauser-yee permalink
    January 20, 2013 4:51 pm

    Just made this. Delicious!
    I absolutely love the peanut and sweet potato flavors together.

Leave a Reply

