Skip to content

Top Five Recipes of 2012!

December 31, 2012

I thought I’d end the year by posting what readers have chosen to be the five most popular Mrs. Smith Cooks recipes for 2012. This has been a year of great improvement for me in terms of cooking. I have tried new things, I’ve stretched myself, and I’ve expanded the repertoire of things I know how to make. Yes, I’ve had some failures along the way, but it’s been worth it!  It’s interesting to see what people search for and love on Mrs. Smith Cooks. Here are the top five:

#5 — Ajiaco (Colombian Chicken Soup)

ajiaco1

This stew represents why I wanted to have a cooking blog to begin with. It’s not a hard recipe, but for me, it was intimidating. I wanted to capture the flavors my husband loves, and I’ve never made something like this before. This recipe took a lot of trial and error to make up for the fact that not all the typical ingredients are available fresh (mainly the papa criolla). The stew is hearty and interesting. We entertain with this all the time.

#4. Oven Baked Tortilla Española (Spanish Omelette) 

tortilla espanola

This post is hugely popular via google searches. Apparently people (like me!) don’t want to go through all of the gymnastics of flipping a Spanish Omelette and prefer to finish it in the oven. I agree and love this healthy and delicious (and cheap!) dinner. We don’t make this enough. Seeing the post makes me want tortilla Española!

#3. Shakshuka (Baked Eggs in Tomato Sauce) 

shakshuka1

Perfect for breakfast, brunch, dinner. Cheap, interesting, saucy. Mmm mmm good. Not hard to see why it’s so popular.

#2  Quinoa Cakes with Capers and Lemon Zest 

quinoa-cakes

These are worth the effort and we almost always have the ingredients in our home. Next time I need to make an appetizer, I shall make these. Bright, crunchy, lemony. (Oooh, for you New Year’s Resolutioners, these are good for ya too!)

#1 Slow Cooker Chicken Tikka Masala

SONY DSC

A great way to get a restaurant dish at home and it uses the slow cooker as well! Score! I wouldn’t have picked this one as a favorite, (mainly because I don’t like the photo. What’s with all that weird looking cilantro on there?!) but Pinners on Pinterest love this one, and so it got lots of hits. In fact, it got the most hits of 2012, so if that weird looking cilantro sprinkle got some new readers to come to Mrs. Smith Cooks, I’ll take it!

Bonus Post: Red Lentil Dahl 

Dahl 1

This post did not receive the most hits in 2012, but it is one of my favorites. I love the way it provides warmth, but not heat. It also takes humble ingredients and makes them shine We eat it at least once per month in my home, and the ingredients are always around  Thought I’d include it for the benefit of new subscribers.

Here’s to hoping 2013 brings many new and successful recipes!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2013 10:15 am

    I’m definitely adding #2 and #5 to my list of things I need to try soon!

  2. January 1, 2013 10:16 am

    I’m definitely adding #2 and #5 to my list of things to try soon!

Leave a Reply

