Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Banana Mini Loaves

November 10, 2012

I love giving homemade things from the kitchen as gifts. One of my constant pitfalls in that endeavor is that I end up being overly ambitious and either creating a mess or spending much more time in the kitchen than I intend. The whole point of giving a homemade gift, as I see it, is to show love and gratitude, not drive yourself crazy. I have a lot of other commitments, and so if I want to give a special homemade gift, I like to make it something that can be done in short order.

When I was celebrating my installation a few weeks ago, I wanted to give a special gift to those who were participating in the service, but, since there were 6 people, I knew I had to think of something that could be mass produced and simple. I settled on chocolate chip banana bread mini loaves because, not only are they easy to make en masse, they are basically a cake. Let’s be honest… the term “bread” for these is very much a stretch. I researched chocolate chip banana bread recipes until I found one with a manageable ingredient list, and this one from Land O’ Lakes won out. The resulting cake bread was moist, sweet, and rich. Perfect for a mini loaf.

To package, I kept with the simple theme and tied a circle “thank you” tag around the loaves wrapped in plastic wrap.

The banana breads were well received, and did their job! I’ll make them again.

Ingredients

3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
2 large eggs
2 medium (1 cup) bananas, mashed
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup chocolate chips
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

Procedure:

1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour 3 mini loaf pans; set aside.

2. Combine sugar and butter in bowl of mixer. Beat at medium speed, scraping bowl often, until creamy. Add eggs; continue beating until well mixed. Reduce speed to low; add bananas and vanilla. Beat until well mixed. Stir in dry ingredients and chocolate chips.

Spoon batter into prepared pans. Bake for 33 to 38 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Let stand 5 minutes; remove from pans. Cool completely. Wrap each in plastic food wrap. Store refrigerated.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2012 5:25 pm

    I was just looking for a mini bread loaf to make for my daughter’s teachers. We will have to give this one a try!

Trackbacks

  1. Gluten Free Banana Bread with Walnuts « Mrs. Smith Cooks

Leave a Reply

