Skip to content

Corn and Red Pepper Frittata with Feta and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

November 1, 2012

In a strange twist of life, now that I have switched to a job with more responsibilities and more time dedicated to my work, I am actually cooking more. In an effort to get everything done in a timely manner, I have started planning one to two weeks worth of meals in advance, making a large shopping trip, and cooking many things the evening or morning before. This has saved time that I used to spend bopping in to the store for ingredients, ordering (and waiting for) take-out and sitting around thinking “What do we want to eat for dinner?” Some time I will do a post about things I’ve learned about meal planning, but since I’ve only been doing it this way for about 6 weeks, I am going to wait until I have more experience to share. One thing, though, that I have started to incorporate in to our meals is “egg night.” One night a week eggs are the main protein. It makes things easy, cheaper, and it’s one slot in the weekly meal plan that I don’t have to think too much about. As I have mentioned before, Frittatas are a great way to deal with eggs. Not only can you put just about anything you want in them, they can be reheated for leftovers, whereas scrambled and other egg preparations are often gross reheated. I typically schedule “egg night” toward the end of the week so that whatever veggies or cheese I happen to have lying around can be used up in a frittata. Ah, glorious egg night.

Most of the time, the frittatas are tasty, and do their job of getting us fed. THIS frittata, however, had an extra special something to it, which is why I snapped a photo and am posting it here. I never thought about putting corn in the frittata, but on this particular egg night I had it lying around and thought “eh, whatever, I’ll throw it in.” It worked perfectly with the red pepper and added sweetness and crunch. The feta and Sun-Dried tomatoes played nicely with the veggies and gave it a bite with extra flavor. Delicious!

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1 small onion, chopped

1/2 red pepper

1 cup sweet corn

3/4 cup feta cheese, crumbled

1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil, chopped

8 eggs

1/2 cup milk or half and half

Procedure:

1. Preheat oven broiler

2. Saute the onion and red pepper together with salt and pepper  in the olive oil until the onions are softened, about 5 minutes. (Note: Oven proof frying pan must be used.)

3. Reduce heat to medium and add corn. Heat until corn is heated through, about 2 minutes.

4. While veggies are cooking, break the eggs into a bowl and beat slightly. Add the milk and cheese.

5. Stir feta and sun-dried tomatoes in to egg mixture

6. Add the egg mixture to the pan with the veggies and cook on medium heat until the bottom is set but the top is still runny, 2-3 minutes.

6. Broil the frittata until the eggs are set and browned on top, about 3 minutes.

7. Cut into wedges and serve warm or at room temperature.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

