Skip to content

Creole Chicken / Pollo a la criolla – Slowcooker

August 15, 2012

Image

 

As we are packing up our house and moving miles and miles away, I’ve been trying some new slowcooker recipes. I love the idea of preparing something early in the morning, dumping it in the slowcooker, and having dinner when I come home from work. There are tons of recipes floating around the internet, and I’ve been trying some of them. As I mentioned before, to me, the idea of doing more than just dumping the stuff in the pot and turning it on (such as browning the meat beforehand, etc.) seems to defeat the entire point of crock pot cooking. However, through my little experiment, I’m figuring out why a lot of recipes call for this. Crock pot cooking can make some bland and boring food. Still, I’m not willing to give up on the idea of flavorful “dump it and go” crock pot food. Of the four recipes I’ve tried so far, this is the only one we liked enough to make again, and I think it’s definitely worthy of the blog. We served it over rice garnished it with avocado and cilantro. It was even tastier today when I had it for lunch. The capers give it a nice bite, and all of the spices and vegetables combine to make it interesting and full of flavor. If you have a favorite crock pot/slowcooker recipe that fits my “dump it and go” requirement, let me know! I’m looking for some suggestions.
Pollo a la criolla, adapted from Skinnytaste (my adaptations include swapping capers for olives, and bumping up the garlic and spices, a lot.)

Ingredients:

  • About 2 pounds skinless boneless chicken thighs
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 4 plum tomatoes, quartered
  • 1 small jar of capers, with brine
  • 1 cup tomato sauce
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • salt to taste (I added 2 tsp, right at the start, did not add more, but my tomato sauce was salty)
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro, substitute parsley if you are a cilantro hater, or just omit (plus more for serving)

Procedure

1. Dump it all in to the pot, mix it well, turn it to low for 6 hours and walk away! (Just the way I like recipes for ye olde crock pot.)

2. Garnish with chopped cilantro and avocado (if you want.) Serve over rice (pasta would work, too!)

Leave a Reply

