Skip to content

Thin Oven Baked Pancake / David Eyre’s Pancake

April 7, 2012

About a month ago I was flipping through my food blog feeds on google reader and noticed this pancake showing up over and over and over again. “What is the deal with this pancake?” I wondered. Well… I made it and found out. It’s everything I want in my favorite recipes… delicious, easy to make, easy to customize. There are various versions of this pancake floating around on the blogs, and my version combines “easy to memorize” with “don’t put it in a blender.” (Why in heaven’s name would I dirty a blender when It’s not necessary? Not this girl. No sirreeeeee. Though I love pancakes, one of the downfalls of making pancakes in the morning is the number of dishes and pans it dirties. Not only that, but this pancake is magic. Truly. It goes in to the oven as a flat lumpy blob and comes out puffy, brown, and delicious.

I’ve enjoyed making this pancake for 10 month old baby Clayton and myself in the morning. It’s easier for Clayton to pick up with his hands than scrambled eggs, yet it’s “eggier” than a pancake. I think of it as half-pancake half crepe. As such, the topping possibilities are endless… berries, brown sugar, syrup, cream cheese, fresh fruit… you name it. The “traditional” topping is just powdered sugar and lemon. I tend to eat this for breakfast and top it with syrup and fruit or just powdered sugar. I think that would be fantastic for dessert with fresh whipped cream and strawberries.

A word about the amount of butter in this recipe. There are 4 TBS of butter. Not bad if you’re serving four people for dessert, but if it’s just you and a 10 month old baby? 1/2 a stick of butter is not a good way to start off the day. Because of this, I’ve made this recipe with 1/2 the amount of butter. However, If you’re making this for the first time, or for dessert, OR for 2 or more people, I suggest using the full amount of butter, because it really does make the pancake golden and delicious around the edges.

Another bonus of this recipe is that it fulfills all of my criteria for a weeknight meal as well. Yay!

Ingredients 


1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup milk

2 eggs

4 TBS butter (see note above)

Procedure


1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

2. Mix together flour, eggs, and milk. Batter will be lumpy. Don’t stress about it, just leave it lumpy or else you’ll have a tough pancake. Remember, magic.

3. Melt butter in a 10-12 inch OVENPROOF skillet over medium high heat until melted and foamy.

4. Pour in the lumpy batter and transfer to the oven

5. Bake for about 15 minutes until brown, poofy and fantastic.

6. Top with powdered sugar, lemon, and jam. (or whatever your little heart desires.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 15, 2012 6:40 pm

    This looks so delicious! But you know I like such things :).

Leave a Reply

