Skip to content

Buttermilk Waffles

January 28, 2012

Buttermilk is such a great ingredient. It’s featured in one of my favorite cakes, I use it to make mashed potatoes tangy and delicious, and you will see it featured in another recipe on Mrs. Smith Cooks in the next week or so. Still, I often find that when I buy a carton of buttermilk for something I will use it for that purpose, and then it slowly makes its way to the back of the fridge where all of the goblins reside. Determined to not let that happen this time, I decided to use up some of my buttermilk to make Martha Stewart’s Buttermilk Waffles. I’m so glad I did. The waffles were easy to make, fluffy and tender, and they tasted delicious.  I added cinnamon and vanilla to the recipe to sweeten them a little. I may or may not have added a few squirts of whipped cream to these and devoured them after I finished photographing them.Ahem.

Buttermilk Waffles, Adapted from Martha Stewart

Ingredients 

DRY:

2 C. all-purpose flour

1 tsp Baking Soda

2 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Salt

1 T Sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

WET

2 C. buttermilk

2 eggs

1 Stick melted butter

1 tsp. vanilla

Procedure:

1. Sift together dry ingredients in a medium bowl

2. Beat together egg, buttermilk, vanilla and melted butter in a large bowl

3. Add dry ingredients to wet and mix together until just combined (Mixture will be lumpy. Do not overmix or waffles will be tough.)

4. Cook waffles on waffle iron according to manufacturer’s directions, making sure to oil the iron before each waffle.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

