Skip to content

Buttermilk Anyberry Cake

July 23, 2010

Back online after (could it be?) almost 12 weeks! WOWSERS! It’s a “good news/bad news” type of situation as far as this blog is concerned. The good news is that I’ve been cooking up a storm so I have tons of inspiration and recipes in my head to share. The bad news is that I have not been documenting the successes by taking photos. Here’s the thing, y’all… My camera turns off after just about every photo! Annoying, I know! Time for a new camera… seriously.  I’m saving up for a fancy digital SLR camera. (oooooh) and by “saving” I mean, I wish I could have one.  But today I decided to forget about my camera woes, gird up my loins, and get back to posting. (Does anyone even know what it means to gird up your loins? I don’t, really. But I think it’s funny to say. GIRD UP YOUR LOINS) Anyway, enough about loins and girding and camera woes. The real reason for this post is this amazing cake.

This is actually a perfect recipe to have as my first recipe back after an intolerable absence not only because it’s an awesome cake, because it is, but because I have made this cake no less than 20 times over the past two summers. No joke.  The recipe from which it’s adapted (the fabulous Smitten Kitchen) describes it as an “everyday” cake. If by “everyday cake” she means “You could seriously eat this cake every day,” then I agree. One of the things I appreciate most about it is (in addition to the obvious ‘it tastes great’) is that it’s affordable to make. So many baked goods add a lot to the grocery bill by the time you throw all of the ingredients in to the cart.  Because this recipe calls for a humble amount of basic ingredients most people usually have on hand  (with the exception of buttermilk) and because it doesn’t have any frosting, it’s very affordable to make. Furthermore, the star ingredient, berries, are super inexpensive at the farmer’s market in the past few weeks. I’ve made this cake with blueberries and raspberries, but I’m sure it would be great with strawberries, blackberries or maybe even cherries.  This cake is light and lemony, and it even works as a coffee cake for breakfast.  The sugar on top makes a nice crunchy sweet topping. A word of caution about the bake time. The recipe says 20 minutes. I’ve had to take it out in 18 minutes or even earlier. It’s thin so you have to watch it like a hawk or it will burn. Enjoy.

Buttermilk Anyberry Cake, adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Printer-Friendly Version

1 cup  all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened
2/3 cup sugar (plus a couple of tablespoons for sprinkling on top)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
1  egg
1/2 cup buttermilk, shaken
1 cup fresh berries

Procedure:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Butter and flour a 9 inch round pan. Set aside.

2. Mix together flour, soda, powder, and salt and set aside.

3. Cream together butter and sugar in a different bowl using an electric mixer on high speed.. Beat until light yellow and fluffy, about two minutes.

4.  Beat in lemon zest, vanilla, and egg.

5.  Turn mixer to low speed and add half  of the dry mixture, all of the buttermilk, and the other half of the dry mixture. Mix until just combined.

6. Spoon batter into prepared pan and smooth top.

7. Scatter berries evenly over the surface of the cake and sprinkle with two tablespoons of sugar.

8. Bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until a wooden toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

9. Cool in pan before inverting on to a plate.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April permalink
    July 23, 2010 8:28 pm

    Welcome back! You were missed. And yum!

  2. Peggy permalink
    July 24, 2010 2:38 am

    Can’t wait to make this one! I love that it is small. I think blueberries from the local farmer’s market will be in my first cake!

Leave a Reply

