Skip to content

sassy individual cheesecakes

May 1, 2010

A few facts about these cheesecakes to convince you to make them (as if the decadent looking photo wasn’t enough to convince you!)

1. There is no baking involved

2. Not including the fruit on top there are only 5 ingredients

3. They can be customized one bajillion different ways by changing up the type of cookie used for the crust

4. The only dish I had to wash was the stand mixer bowl and paddle and one spoon. (A far cry from my usual dessert disasters that involve multiple bowls, pans, whisks, measuring cups, etc.)

5. One can literally make these cheese cakes in 10 minutes (including clean up!)

Convinced? I thought so. I’m going to give the recipe and then make a few comments.

Sassy Individual Cheesecakes: Modified (once again) from Stone Soup

Printer-Friendly Version

Ingredients:

12 plain cookies, cut to fit inside muffin cups

2/3 cup irish cream

14 oz ricotta cheese

18 oz cream cheese, softened

2/3 cup powdered sugar

fresh or frozen fruit, to top

Procedure:

1. Line muffin tins with papers.

2. Place one cookie in each muffin tin

3. Drizzle one teaspoon Baileys on each cookie

4. In a large bowl (or, bowl of stand mixer) combine cream cheese, ricotta, and powdered sugar. Blend on medium until well combined (about 40 seconds)

5. Divide cheese mixture among muffin cups

6. Chill at least one hour until cheesecake firms up and cookie soaks through

7. Top with fresh or frozen fruit if desired

Enjoy!

A few comments…

Re: The cookies. I tried four different kinds of cookies for the crust in an attempt to find which one would be best. Two were gluten free (because of my gluten intolerant husband) and two were not (because a. those gluten free cookies are EXPENSIVE and I try to save them all for Elias and b. because sometimes, well, they taste like the box.). The gluten free cookies were a pecan shortbread and ginger snaps. The others were Pepperidge Farm sugar cookie and Vanilla wafers. I thought they all worked out fine, but my favorite was the sugar cookie. The next time I make this, I’m going to cut graham crackers and give them a whirl, so if someone tries it before me, be sure to post it in the comments.

Re: The Bailey’s: Who doesn’t love Bailey’s Irish Cream? Come on! We didn’t have any sitting around the house and so we bought some just for this recipe. Then we ended up just drinking the Bailey’s so we’re back to having none in the house. That said, I’m not sure it was entirely necessary. It did soften the cookie and make it more of a crust, but the flavor was strong and a little overpowering in my view. Tasty, but perhaps not needed. I will try this again without anything added to the cookie to see if it softens just with a bit of time in the fridge. Again, if you try it, post your results in the comments.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 12:38 pm

    These look absolutely delicious! Once I have a real kitchen, I’ll definitely want to try some of these.

    Mostly I just wanted to leave a comment to let you know I was reading the ol’ blog. 🙂 Sorry I haven’t gotten around to updating mine. I’m hoping to have a bit more time once the wedding preparations are done and over.

    I hope you’re doing well. I miss talking with you, Traci!

Leave a Reply

