Skip to content

icebox cake

April 12, 2010

icebox cake

When I was growing up, my mom would make this cake, along with pumpkin pie for dessert on thanksgiving day. My brother would usually devour the entire thing, but when he left a piece for me, I always enjoyed it. This cake requires three things: famous chocolate wafers, whipped cream and time to sit in the fridge. That’s it. My mom would make it with cool whip and I tried it with homemade whipped cream. The whipped cream soaks into the cookies and makes a soft delicious cake. I love this cake for several reasons. It’s light, it’s chocolaty, and it’s served cold. (Hence the name, I suppose.)  Enjoy!

Classic Icebox Cake (makes 6 “dainty” servings)

Ingredients:

1 package of famous chocolate wafers

1 and 1/2 cups heavy cream

1 and 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

1 and 1/2 tablespoons powdered sugar

Procedure:

1. Beat cream, vanilla, and sugar on high speed until soft peaks form. (Hint: Make sure the bowl, beaters and cream are all very very cold. I stick my kitchen-aid beaters and the bowl in the freezer for about an hour before making whipped cream.)

2. Assemble the cake. I assembled my cake by making one long “log” of cookies (one behind the other) with whipped cream in between each cookie. Then I frosted the outside of the log so that no chocolate wafer showed. This is the classic method and the one my mom taught me. There are other methods of assembly, however, the most interesting (in my opinion) is this one.

3. Cover the cake and let refrigerate at least 6 hours or overnight

4. To serve, cut at an angle so that the cookies are vertical as shown in the picture above.

chocolate icebox cake

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

