Skip to content

Tabouli(eh) Makeover…

March 2, 2010

Even though I’m not quite sure how to spell it, I love tabouli. It’s a refreshing salad with such bright flavors… parsley, lemon, mint. I was on the hunt for an exceptional tabouli recipe this week, and I found one. Two things to note about this recipe. First, it’s made with couscous instead of Bulgar wheat. This was a relief to me since Bulgar wheat scares the daylights out of me. (How does one cook something with such an ugly sounding name?) Second, it calls for some interesting additions to the dressing: cinnamon and allspice. Adding the spices made a huge difference!  I had a hard time taking pictures of this recipe, mainly because the smell of this perfectly spiced tabouli was distracting! If I were making it in the summer, I’d add plenty of wonderful, ripe tomatoes, but the tomatoes in Michigan are rather sad this time of year. This recipe is very easily adapted to suit your tastes. I added plenty of cinnamon and parsley and a lot of lemon juice.  Give it a try, and tell me what you think!

Spiced Couscous Tabouli with Feta adapted from Whole Foods Market

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients

Tabouli:

3 cups couscous, cooked according to package directions and cooled

1 bunch chopped parsley (about 2 cups)

1/2 cup chopped fresh mint

1/2 cucumber, diced

1 medium tomato, diced

1 cup feta cheese, crumbled

salt and pepper, to taste

Dressing:

1/2 c. freshly squeezed lemon juice

3 Tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon ground allspice

3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions: Prepare couscous according to package directions and let cool. Meanwhile, make dressing by whisking together the lemon juice with the oil and spices. When the couscous is cool, fluff with a fork and mix together with parsley, mint, tomato, cucumber, feta cheese and dressing. Toss to combine thoroughly. Taste and add salt and pepper.

Comments are closed.

