Skip to content

Individual Key Lime Cheesecakes (gluten-free)

November 8, 2013

key lime cheesecake

My birthday was last Tuesday…. Happy Birthday to me! I offered to make my own birthday meal because I enjoy cooking and knew it would take some stress off of E to not have to do it. I knew I would make something lemon or lime flavored. While I certainly enjoy chocolate. (See here, here, and here) I love lemon and lime desserts even more. (case in point: here, here and here). I’m the one at the dessert buffet happily loading up my plate with lime tartlets and lemon bars while my friends are devouring the chocolate cake with chocolate ganache and a side of chocolate.  In our house, birthday cakes are always gluten free so husband/dad can enjoy them too.

I will confess that I was hoping to make a more elaborate key lime dessert for my birthday, but (insert standard disclaimer about good intentions, being too busy, blah blah blah).

This dessert doesn’t take much time to whip up, and the results are very satisfying. Limey and creamy! The gingersnap crust gives it a little extra something, but it still has that graham cracker crust feel that we all associate with key lime pie.

This cheesecake can easily be made as one large cheesecake, just increase the baking time. Also, to further simplify, pour the filling into a pre-made pie crust.

Happy 35 to me!

Individual Key Lime Cheesecakes

Ingredients:

1. 8 oz gluten-free gingersnap cookies

2. 1/2 stick butter

3. 16 oz. cream cheese, softened

4. 1/2 cup sugar

5. Two large eggs

6. 1/4 cup freshly squeezed key lime juice

7. 1 T. grated key lime zest

8. 1 T vanilla

Procedure

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Prepare muffin tin with 12 paper liners

3. Make crust

i. pulse the gingersnaps in a food processor until they are the consistency of sand, and transfer to a bowl.

ii. add the melted butter and stir. The mixture will not be very wet but will hold together loosely.

iii. spoon the crust in to the muffin liners and press down to form the crust. (Note: I wanted a fairly thin crust on mine, so I used about 2 T of crust per cheesecake which resulted in some leftover crumbs. We’ve been sprinkling the leftover crumbs on pancakes and yogurt to use them up. Alternatively, you could make a thicker crust.)

4. Make the filling

i. with a stand mixer, mix the cream cheese, sugar, lime juice, zest, and vanilla until thoroughly combined

ii. add eggs one at a time and mix until just combined

5. Divide filling equally among the prepared muffin tins.

6. Bake at 350 for 18-22 minutes or until the filling is just set (it’s ok if it wobbles a tiny bit in the center)

7. Refrigerate  for at least 3 hours before enjoying.

Source: Filling adapted from Kraft Recipes 

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 9, 2013 9:23 am

    Yum !!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 819 other followers

