Skip to content

Individual Chocolate Cake (Gluten-Free)

April 10, 2013

GlutenFreeChocolateCakeIndividual

Wow! There hasn’t been much happening here on Mrs. Smith Cooks! In the little free time I’ve had in the last month or so, I’ve been working on another writing project, and so this blog has been woefully neglected. Here’s to hoping that will change as there are many exciting recipes just waiting to be showcased!

E’s Birthday is on February 18. On his actual birthday we were super busy going to the rodeo and I didn’t have time to make a cake. The plan was to make a wonderful (and very complicated) cake the next day, the 19th, but then life got in the way and it didn’t happen that day either. Every day for the next week or so I kept thinking “Today I’ll make that cake” and it didn’t happen. Finally on the last day of February I had had enough. Clearly I didn’t have the time or energy to make the cake I wanted to make, but I didn’t want the entire month to go by with no birthday cake, so I compromised and whipped up these super fast, super easy individual chocolate cakes. They were perfect with a dollop of ice cream right on top. This cake wins no awards for beauty, it’s not a “oh my oh my look at that impressive cake” type of cake. It’s just chocolate cake. And it’s Gluten-Free for my non-gluten eating birthday boy.

Individual Chocolate Cake

Ingredients: 

50 grams dark chocolate

1/4 cup brown sugar

3 TBS butter (plus extra for greasing the ramekins)

1 egg, separated

 

Directions 

1. Grease  the bottom and sides of 2 1 cup ramekins with butter

2. Melt butter and chocolate together in short (20-30 second)  bursts in the microwave (do not overheat, let the stirring do most of the work of melting.)

3. Let mixture cool slightly and then mix in sugar and egg yolk

4. Whisk egg white with a pinch of salt in a clean dry bowl (either by hand or in a stand mixer, the latter will save your wrists and elbows.)

5. Gently fold chocolate mixture into the egg white mixture until just barely combined

6. Divide mixture between the two prepared ramekins and bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes or until the tops are firm and dry looking

Source: Adapted from Stone Soup

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2013 9:50 pm

    Are all of your recipes gluten free? I just started eating gluten free and need to find some fun things to make. A person can only eat so much plain meat and fruits and veggies. I need variety. Can’t wait to try this one.

  2. April 10, 2013 10:06 pm

    Hi Peggy! No, not all of my recipes are Gluten Free, but a great many of them are. Elias has to eat Gluten Free and so when I’m cooking for both of us, I make gluten free items. I still enjoy making some baked goods with flour to share with gluten eating friends, and they show up from time to time on the blog. To find all the recipes that are tagged “Gluten Free” go to the drop down “categories” section that is under the archives on the side bar and choose “gluten free”. (right side of the blog.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 817 other followers

